Built in 1819 either as a doctor or lawyer’s office, it was
originally situated across the road from its present location. A
very large home was located where Messner carpeting is now and this
sat next to it on the east side. It was used as a lawyer office for
the lawyer who lived in the large home and it was used as a doctor’s
office for Dr. Carpenter, whose family lived in the large home.
This little building has had many uses when it was not being used for
those two businesses. At one time it was a private home; at other times
it was a library, a bakery, a nursery school, and its last use before the
move was as Pittsford Travel Agency.
The reason for the move was that James Burdett, who operated a grocery
store at 19 South Main Street wanted a driveway out onto Monroe Ave. He
purchased the Little House with the thought of tearing it down to make
room for this driveway. A group of concerned citizens, who recognized what
a gem of Federal style architecture it was, contacted Mr. Burdett and persuaded
him to sell them the property, which he did but then told them they had
to move it!
What a scramble happened then! A new site for the building had to be found
and quickly, too.
Mr. Fletcher Steele, a noted landscape architect whose family owned the
home almost directly across the street, agreed to lease a small part of
his land for the sum of $1.00 to the Pittsford Historic Society, (which
was the concerned group) and allowed them to construct a foundation and
move the building across the street, where it remains today.
It is now the office headquarters and office of Historic Pittsford, Inc.
who maintain it. It is set up as a law office and has some very interesting
furnishings which depict the use in 1819.