In 1842, Pittsford Village needed a
schoolhouse. One that had been named as District #6 was located
on State Street, made of wood, and was destroyed by fire. The Trustees
Village decided that a stone school building was needed and they
advertised in a newspaper that went as far as Rochester.
Mr. Samuel Crump, a master stonemason who
had practiced that craft in his native country, England, had arrived
not long before that to visit relatives in Rochester on his honeymoon.
Sam had decided to stay in this country due to religious intolerance
in England and was looking for work. This announcement seemed a
godsend. He walked to Pittsford from his cousin's home and persuaded
the village and school officials that he was the person to build
the stone school
house and he would do that from cobblestones with which he had
experience and which he considered beautiful.
The school was built and housed all of the
village students. Students who lived in outlying areas attended district
schoolhouses located within the town. At this time there were 9 districts.
A small wooden addition was added to the rear in order to accommodate
When the "new" school was built up on Lincoln
Avenue, it could house all of the grades up through 12 and this
cobblestone building was no longer needed. This was around 1890.
The small wooden
addition was removed in 1892 and became part of a home at #7 West
Mr. Samuel Crump remained in Pittsford to
become an outstanding citizen. He was a merchant and figured heavily
into the Underground Railroad movement, the ONLY documented engineer
we have in the community.